About SASA & Current Officers

About

Map depicting SASA's regionThe Southern American Studies Association is the largest regional chapter of the American Studies Association (U.S.A.). SASA presents new developments and findings in American Studies scholarship, identifies and defines areas of debate about the nature of American culture and its study, and conducts cultural and historical programs on the South and its communities. SASA holds a biennial conference, with recent meetings at Kennesaw State University (2015), College of Charleston (2013), Georgia State University (2011), and George Mason University (2009). Conference themes are broad and inclusive to encompass such topics as art and architecture, black literature and music, American Studies as cultural critique, the cultural uses of photography, Native American Studies, popular culture, Southern literature and women’s studies. The SASA Constitution can be found here.

Current Board

Krystyn R. Moon, University of Mary Washington
Current President

kmoon@umw.edu

Lynne Adrian, University of Alabama
Secretary/Treasurer and Past President

ladrian@ua.edu

Alisha Gaines, Florida State University

amgaines@fsu.edu

Michael Innis-Jiménez, University of Alabama

ij@ua.edu

Nghana T. Lewis, Tulane University

nlewis2@tulane.edu

John Wharton Lowe, University of Georgia
Past President

jwlowe@uga.edu

Tim Marr, UNC-Chapel Hill

marr@unc.edu

Margaret “Molly” McGehee, Oxford College of Emory University
Vice President

mmcgehe@emory.edu

Dennis Moore, Florida State University
SASA’s Representative (2007-2019) on the ASA’s Regional Chapters Committee and Past President

dmoore@fsu.edu

Scott Peeples, College of Charleston

peeplesS@cofc.edu

Mathew Swiatlowski, UNC-Chapel Hill
Graduate Representative

mathew.swiatlowski@unc.edu

 

Cocoa Williams, Florida State University

Graduate Representative

cmw13j@my.fsu.edu